Discouraged....

This forum made possible through the generous support of
SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Eyes1984

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I need some advice. I just started a new position and I feel like every other OD that works there is faster than me at doing exams. I've tried so many things to become faster in the exam but I still seem to feel slow at it. The techs there also dilate the patients before I see them so that will hopefully speed up my exam time. Does anyone have any suggestions to speeding up the exam? Any refraction tips(I think this where I am the slowest)? Also, I think I may be going between doing the exam and typing data into the computer too much during the exam which could be slowing me down. I graduated last year so I know I can't possibly be super fast now but I just wanted to see how seasoned optometrists do their exams. Also, we schedule exams every 20 minutes. Thanks for any help!

Members don't see this ad.

It's hard to be off much help not knowing exactly what setting you are in. Over the years I have managed to speed things up by using the concept of a problem oriented visit instead of giving everybody the same tests in a full comprehensive eye exam. Hang in there.

Record everything after the exam and focus on what matters. Any young person can speed up their times after a few months at the same place. I can't explain how I refract, but it involves a lot of comparisons of 0.50 D jumps and I generally trust the autorefractor cyl axis. I usually have an estimate before refracting that I push towards.

Members don't see this ad :)
Record everything after the exam and focus on what matters. Any young person can speed up their times after a few months at the same place. I can't explain how I refract, but it involves a lot of comparisons of 0.50 D jumps and I generally trust the autorefractor cyl axis. I usually have an estimate before refracting that I push towards.