DIY post bacc timeline help

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

IsTheSceneSafe

Reaction score
Hello,

I’ll try and lay everything out, so you can get a good idea of where I’m at.
I got my bachelors in a science field which only included the basic prereqs. GenChem, GenPhys1, biology1&2 etc. I got around a 3.0 for cGPA and sGPA. Did good freshman year did bad sophomore and junior, then did good senior year. I struggled during those years not from having hard classes, but from my lack of motivation and being unsure of my career path. There are quite a few Ws and Cs in my transcript.
During my senior year I realized the mistakes I made, and the path I wanted to go down. (Medical school).
However, I knew that I needed to confirm this before I spent tens of thousands of dollars on a post-bacc with no extra degree at the end of it. So I worked in the medical field for around a year after graduation. During that time it became clear this is what I wanted to do regardless of the money and time required.
I am now 1 semester into my 3 semester post bacc, where I am taking all missing prereqs and a few extra hard science classes. It is around 35 credits total. Assuming I get between a 3.8-4.0 in my post bacc, my last 70ish credits will be in that same range. This however would not make my cGPA and sGPA more than 3.15-3.2.
Clinical hours will be likely around 2000. I have leadership / hobbies / shadowing / non clinical to put down.
No research or volunteering yet though.
I have always been very good at standardized tests, so I’m hoping this translates well on the MCAT eventually.
My main questions for you are about my timeline, and my school choice.