DO, bottom of my class. Chances for Neuro residency?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

browncatman

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi All,

I'm an M2 now, I just got my class rank and am bottom 5% at a DO school. I'm really trying to figure out how my future looks. I've wanted to do Neuro for years and looked into it a lot but don't have any research.

Here is some interesting info:

We took a test on logical reasoning at the beginning of school. I scored in the top 1% of my med school class. I've gotten perfect or near perfect on every logic or math test I've ever taken.
I studied 60-80 hours a week through M1 year, but don't have any noticeable test anxiety. I really couldn't have studied any harder.
I wasn't a science major. I did the bare minimum prereqs.
I had an MCAT that would have gotten me above the average at most MD schools, but barely a 3.0 GPA.
I should do better on boards than my class rank would predict but I can't imagine crushing them.
I think I have ADHD and have been diagnosed by a few people, I take meds just about daily but don't really like being on them. I wouldn't really want to be on them post medical school or really post residency.
All my pt contact and everything has been great, people generally seem to like me and I feel good at that part. I've been good at diagnosis or the more reasoning type stuff in general.

So I guess

A. What the heck is going on here?
B. How does Neurology look for me?
C. How does completing a residency period and becoming a functional doctor look?

Plz don't quote this incase I want to delete it later.

Members don't see this ad.

Here are some of my observations: