DO Neurology vs MD PM&R...Need help ASAP!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

francheezy

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys,

I was offered a D.O. Neurology residency spot for which I have a week to decide whether I want it. I also am registered for the MD match with only 3 PM&R programs interviewed and ranked.

A quick summary about myself. I'm a 4th yr med student who was placed off schedule due to an injury last January, so instead of graduating last June, I am expected to graduate this June. I have had a huge interest in PM&R ever since clinical rotations during my 3rd year and with speaking to many residents. I love the outpatient side in particular but am also interested in managing brain injury and stroke patients. I have done 4 audition rotations on top of 3 private practice (primarily interventional) rotations in PM&R. I applied to almost every single allopathic PM&R program, however, because of my poor board scores (2 retakes + low passing scores), I was only offered interviews at 3 of the 4 places I auditioned at, and no where else. During my rotations, I felt like I did a great job as I am much more of a people person and have learned a lot through my experiences in all of the physiatry rotations. All the attendings, residents and faculty have said great things about me and I feel like my interview only boosted my ranking with these residency programs. That being said, I am unsure if they will rank me highly or high enough for me to land a spot. One program offers 9 spots, another offers 5 and the last offers 4 spots.