DO or out of country

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

EAS2784

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Sorry if someone has addressed this before....

I've been accepted to a few DO school's now but I'm still waiting to hear from my top choice MD school, which is a state school. I'm going to send a letter of interest this week to see if that sparks anything(my stats are competitive for this schools average).

But what is your opinion on this: would you consider going to an out of country school school over going to a DO? My concern is: I studied for the MCAT with a girl who had attended a caribbean school and couldn't get back into the US (I'm assuming her board scores weren't competitive). Her outcome was to retake the MCAT and reapply. Thank you for your opinions!

Members don't see this ad.

from the information i've gathered here, DO >> Caribeans.

Members don't see this ad :)
I will never understand why people to apply to programs they don't like. I applied to both MD and DO programs. In my opinion, there are some really great DO programs, and I invite you to explore them further. If you haven't already, check out the pre-DO forum to investigate people's opinions. The DO vs foreign school thread pops up a fair amount, and I am confident that you would find some helpful threads if you search the forum. Best wishes!

From what I've heard...it's harder for foreign MD's to get a residency positions than DO's...though I suppose it depends on what you want to go into and how well you do...but that's a generality. My mom was a foreign MD and still got into anesthesiology with an above average board score, but that was ten years ago. I think that I would prefer DO over foreign MD, but you could always wait a year and reapply, too...good luck! Tough choices!

may this is rob from evms interview ;)