Does Engineering help or hurt?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jawdoc

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am an engineer, went through the pain of it all and now am on the verge of applying.

Pre-med advisor said med schools look down upon engineers (attend a top tier university). Engineering professors say the opposite. What are your thoughts?

Does it help? Do we get some gpa leniency/boost? Comparisons would be good (like x.xx gpa as bio vs y.yy gpa engineering)

Bioengineering, specifically. If you were wondering.

Members don't see this ad.

What you major in does not matter, so long as you fill the medical school requirements. Schools can generally discern whether or not you had a more difficult major; they will take that factor into account when reviewing your application. Engineering majors, from my understanding, don't get any kind of special treatment. If you were a music major and an adept violinist, you would get noticed. Otherwise, majors don't really matter. Adcoms will look at your application as a whole: volunteering, EC, research, shadowing, MCAT, GPA. However, anything below a 3.0 could set off some red flags. What is your s and c GPA, if you do not mind me asking?
But to summarize my rant, it does not matter what you major in; you can't get in with a 2.5, even if you're an astrophysictthermodynamicistprosthetic3dprinter major. I am sure you can work with a 3.0 for DO, 3.4-3.5 would be preferable for MD, but GPA is just one variable in the equation.

Reactions: 1 user
I am an engineer, went through the pain of it all and now am on the verge of applying.

Pre-med advisor said med schools look down upon engineers (attend a top tier university). Engineering professors say the opposite. What are your thoughts?

Does it help? Do we get some gpa leniency/boost? Comparisons would be good (like x.xx gpa as bio vs y.yy gpa engineering)