Does nursing home volunteering = clinical volunteering?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Starlord

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I've been volunteering at a nursing home for two years, and I really enjoy it. My plan is to continue volunteering there until I graduate. I wanted to know though if it would be considered "clinical volunteering." At the nursing home, I assist with rehabilitation (although that involves working with physical and occupational therapists) and help with social events. The only other activity I participate in that could qualify as a clinical experience is shadowing. Do you guys think I should try to also volunteer in a blatantly clinical setting?

Members don't see this ad.

Short answer, yes.

Long answer, depends on your activities. Do you only play games / interact with the residents? Or is there a nurse or doctor there that you are able to follow around while they work with the patients, take exams, etc. There are technicalities in play as some consider them "residents" instead of "patients." Honestly, if I were you, I would see if I can get a volunteering opportunity at a hospital or a health clinic if possible, just to avoid any future headaches. It's better to do it now if you have the time.

I would consider direct patient interaction through nursing home volunteering as an excellent, clinical interaction. Combined with shadowing I see no issue.

More is never a bad thing, though. It wouldn't hurt to consider doing a medical job (e.g. PCT, Phlebotomy, Scribe, etc) to make you some money and get more experience, unless you have a better alternative for income.

Members don't see this ad :)