Does the MCAT predict much/should I give up?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

lab2185

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi All,
I have followed SDN for years but was never actually a member and was always scared to post.
I feel like I am having a quarter life crisis and wanted to run my situation by people here. I hope people won't attack this post, as I know some people can be a bit harsh on these forums.

So I am a non-traditional applicant, and have been very set on applying to med school for the past 5 years.

I completed a B.A. Honors and have a 3.44
I wasn't thinking about med school at the time. I graduated in 2008.

I then went to an ivy-leage and got an MPH and graduated with a 3.7 or 3.8. I am not sure because they don't have our GPA on our transcript. I did well in grad school. Got an A+ on my thesis and won an award. I didn't feel extremely passionate during my practicum and wished I was working with patients. I started questioning if I really wanted to work in policy or research, and started to think about maybe applying to medical school.

I decided to work in research when I finished my MPH, and attempt to go back to school and start the med pre-reqs. I did them while working on and off for two years. I did bio, English, gen chem, organic chem. I had done physics as an undergrad so I didn't need to do that.

I have quite good ECS (I think anyhow). I was extremely involved student in undergrad/grad. Tons of hospital work in the ER and peds, shadowing doctors,student government, service trips, organizing cancer fundraisers, different jobs, traveling, HIV internship in Africa, two different research positions since graduating from my MPH.