Does this sound reasonable?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

emttim

Addicted to SCUBA
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Basically, I'm an EMT in medic school and I have a feeling that I will probably not be satisfied staying a paramedic for my entire life. Plus I don't think my body would be able to handle that. Anyway, I'm probably going to apply to med school several years after I graduate from Davis since me and my gf will be in the unique situation to save up the majority of the cost of my medical education (obviously she's behind me 100% so no issues there). Now don't get me wrong, I love EMS, I just understand it has limitations and for all I know, I'll be in a position to help change that once I'm on the other side of the fence. I would love the opportunity to do that.

I'm wondering what you guys think as far as how reasonably my chances at getting accepted are. I really don't want to post this in the "What are my chances" subforum under the pre-allo forum because there's so many idiots who lurk there. I'd rather have intelligent replies as well as receive them from people with the same background in EMS. As far as grades go, I would think I'm ok since my science GPA is around a 3.8 and overall GPA the same. I haven't taken the MCAT yet so obviously I can't tell you what that will be. I'm an extremely good test taker so hopefully the first try will be sufficient.