Don't know what to do...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

TraumaQueen

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello, everyone. This post is going to be long, so bear with me.

First, about me... I am 27 years old, married, and mother to two toddlers. My family lives in NYC. I currently work as an EMT. I went to college and studied pre-med, but because tuition was so expensive, I haven't been able to get my degree yet. I have about 15 credits to finish. I hope to get my bachelor's degree by the time my youngest starts school (in 3 years.)

I have a ton of experiences, volunteer work, and extra-curricular activities. The last time I saw my transcript, my GPA was 3.66. However, my last semester of college was horrible. I was pregnant and terribly sick, so I missed a lot of classes and I know my GPA definitely dropped. I took Organic Chem I that semester, so I may have to retake the course to get a higher grade. (I haven't seen my transcript again because I owe tuition money.)

My plan was to go to podiatry school after college. I would still like to go, but I'm not sure if this is realistic. I still have to get my Bachelor's degree and take Organic Chem 2. I may have to retake Organic Chem 1 if I did bad my last semester. I really don't remember much from any of my science classes. If I apply to podiatry school in three years (when I'm 30 years old), my pre-reqs would all be over 8 years old. Should I take all the pre-reqs over before applying? I would like to go to NYCPM because my family already lives in NY.

Would I be able to work while in pod school? I am an EMT, so would I be able to study while waiting around in the ambulance? Or would it be better to take out extra loans and save my time for family, studying, etc?