Early 30's - 3.1 cGPA - Canadian Applicant - Considering Postbacc for MD Schools

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

nbioc

Reaction score
Background: I studied science in a canadian university out of high school, ran into some difficulties in my program for my first 3 semesters (diffculties were financial, but also maturity).

By definition I come from a disadvantaged economic background and finances were always the greatest constraint and worry as I attended universities in Canada with high costs of living in my region (national student aid in Canada is not always guanateed to cover even basic costs at times depending how it is evaluated, as I've had this happen to me and have had to work during my studies in later years, thus further delaying my academic progress). I had received academic scholarships that covered my entire first year of university and a bit of my second year, which helped me start right the process right away. My grades rebounded after this time period and I ended up trasferring to a different city where my sibling was living. I was always interested in research and both fortunately and unfortnately had developed a strong mentorship relationship with an influential scientist who has since retired.

One of the main concerns I have is that I have a few sporadic ec's - grades and research were the priority in my early twenties so I didn't always sustain or place emphasis on volunteering (shadowing is extremely rare in Canada as well - though I have interesting but brief shadowing experience as well. In terms of formal research, I have one term in a laboratory studying basic science research in lipidology/atherosclerosis under a different scientist whose lab was based at a hospital in a large academic type hospital when I was 19, unfortunately this was only for one term).