EM vs psychiatry?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

brandtson

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,
First time poster...looking for some advice. I'm currently a PGY2 in a 4 year EM program and im considering a career change. I'm just not sure about the longevity of the field. Feel like i'm always just "moving the meat"/trying not to get sued and that i'm just getting through my shift to get to my days off. I'm also tired of the nights/weekend/holidays and would like to be home on weekends with my kids...they don't care if I had tues and weds off when there at school all day. I wanted to do psych when i was a student but, of course, was discouraged and ended up going with the only other speciality i could stand. My dilemma is that i've been offered a psych spot outside the match and several interviews but i would have to start as a pgy1 july 2007, granted i would get credit for my primary care. So, 2 more years of residency, 2 more years of interest on my 180k of loans, 2 less years of +200k ER salary. Sounds like a no brainer to most but then i have to do this job for the next 35 years. Anybody else decide between EM and psychiatry? What made the decision for you?Advice? Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

Very interesting I was just thinking about this today and talking to someone. During my M3 year the only thing I liked was EM and psych-i hated everything else! Then I got to wondering how opposite of fields these really are. I mean EM you barely get to know the patient, have no follow up care, rely almost completely on objective tests even more so than almost any other field- v. knowing your patients extremely well and having very good follow up with lots of talking, no objective tests, rather its mostly a subjective field.

The only thing they have in common as they both have pretty good lifestyles with no call (and not talking about academic psych with call)-