EMS Litigation Before Starting Med School?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

EMTrepidation

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I am a Texas resident who has received a pre-match offer from a Texas school for the upcoming (2015) Fall. I am also EMT-B certified and have been working at a private ambulance company for the past several weeks. Throughout my work experience, I have heard of numerous lawsuits against the company, and been told by the higher-ups that if your name is listed in any litigation, you will essentially be blacklisted from any sort of healthcare work for life.

I have known of several "incidents" where a patient was dropped during transfer from the bed, or the cot tipped over with the pt on it, and then the pt subsequently sues the EMT/company. I want to do EMS because I enjoy working with patients and I feel like it has helped me become a better leader in stressful situations, but I don't know if I'm putting myself at severe risk of losing my shot a medical school if a freak accident happens. In many of the incidents I've seen, the EMS personnel are following protocol to a T, and these are legitimately freak accidents that no one could really prevent. Regardless, the patients suffer and lawyers get involved and people get sued.

I have already been accepted into a medical school and I'm afraid that if something like that happens to me, and my name goes into some litigation because a patient decides to sue, that the medical school will see this and decide that I'm too much of a liability and reject my application. I've looked everywhere for some insight into whether I should be worried or start trying to find a new job. Is this a baseless, neurotic fear, or should I start filling out new job applications?

Members don't see this ad.