Engineering Major; Low GPA; Fear of not being accepted

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

EGRpremed

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a Junior Biomedical Engineering Student and recently I have been worried about not being accepted in medical school when I apply this summer.

I have a Cumulative GPA of 3.179 and I have completed 109 credits so getting up to at least a 3.4 by my graduation date is going to be very difficult if not impossible. All of my engineering classes have brought down my GPA tremendously (I have gotten all Cs.) I realized that BME was not for me after the first semester of my sophomore year and at that point I had already invested so much time into the major and taken too many classes that would not transfer over for another major.

I have received all As and Bs in my pre-med required courses, except in Organic Chemistry I which I got a D, re-took and got an A; as well as Organic Chemistry II in which I got a C. I was also required to take two Physiology courses that were specifically created for BME students only and let's just say that was torture. I received a D (but still passed) in part I, and a C in part 2.

My overall BCPM GPA is also low due to my orgo and physiology grades. I have a 3.0364. My overall GPA including community college and DE credits is a 3.2.

I have 100+ hours of volunteering and still working (40 of which I did at my university's hospital; 40 of which I did as a volunteer scribe at a free clinic; and about 20-25 hours that I have done solely with my sorority.)

I have around 70 hours of clinical experience/shadowing and still working (40 of which I have done scribing as a volunteer; 10 of which I did with my uncle in the Dominican Republic during his surgeries; 5 of which I shadowed a Plastic Surgeon in his office; and another 5 for a Practicum class for BME in which I followed a doctor around during two separate rounds-2.5 hrs each)