Etiquette for Shadowing as a Med Student

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

CyberMaxx

Doing math in pen
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I did a search for this topic but kept on coming up with Pre-Allo threads.

Do any of you guys have any insights on what the proper channels are for setting up shadowing as a medical student? As a pre-med I often just tried to get shadowing experiences shotgun style - sending out a ton of emails and seeing who bit. However, I feel like as a med student I should take a different approach. Should I try to go through someone in the med school or through someone in the department I'm interested in (administrative assistant or the head of the department)? Or should I just email the people who I'm interested in shadowing directly?

My situation is that there is a particular field that I'm interested in and would like to get more exposure to early on. I want to shadow early because there are a couple of faculty members in the department that I would be interested in doing research with over the summer and I want to build those relationships and get my name in before my M1 class as a whole starts looking for summer research positions (my school does a workshop for us on getting summer research gigs in early November). Advice appreciated! :)

Members don't see this ad.

Medical students don't shadow.

If you're interested in doing research in a specific field and your school doesn't have a formal process for setting that up, then contact the specific faculty member and discuss the options with them.

Reactions: 1 users
Members don't see this ad :)
I believe he's talking about in the first 2 years.