Family Ties for School with Strong IS bias

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
D

deleted1156342

Hey all,

So i’m an FL resident, but I am interested in applying to some schools that have strong preference for IS applicants. I’m referring to UC Irvine mainly, but I have what I perceive as strong connections in CA, NY, and NJ so my question can apply to the other strong IS preference schools in those states.

CA: My sister and dad live there now, as well as my dads family that we’ve spent holidays with every year so I’ve traveled to CA yearly my whole life.

NJ: My cousins (closest family that is not my immediate family) live on the border of NJ and NY and we’ve visited them 3+ times a year my entire life, so I would have a lot of interest to practice/go to school there.

NY: My sister lived there for 6 years before moving to CA, but also as mentioned with my cousins we would visit NY every time we came to see them in NJ. So about 3+ times a year coming to NY as well. Also a huge Knicks and Giants fan for what it’s worth.

My question is, is it worth trying to apply to some of these schools with heavy IS bias or should I save the money for something else? UC Irvine, Keck, Rutgers, NYU LI, NYMC are all schools that lean towards instate applicants that I was interested in.

Thank you for your time!

Members don't see this ad.

My question is, is it worth trying to apply to some of these schools with heavy IS bias or should I save the money for something else? UC Irvine, Keck, Rutgers, NYU LI, NYMC are all schools that lean towards instate applicants that I was interested in.
If you attended one of these for undergrad, you would potentially have a decent chance at an interview at that school (as long as you also match median stats and mission).

Reactions: 1 user
If you attended one of these for undergrad, you would potentially have a decent chance at an interview at that school.