Fastest path to licensure in California?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

CaliHopeful

Reaction score
Hello everyone :)

I'm currently a DPT student that will be graduating in a few months, and am beginning my job search. I go to school in New England, however I plan on moving to California to work and to finally live with my fiancee and his family once I graduate. It seems like getting licensed in CA is more complicated than most other states though!

I've done some research regarding the process, but I definitely need help on the fastest path to licensure! It would make sense that taking the boards early would get me licensed faster, but from what I've read it seems like that's not the case? I've read that CA can take forever to process your results and award a license if you take the boards early in another state, and that it's better to have the Physical Therapy Board of California sponsor you for a seat to take the boards, which they won't do until your degree is conferred (another difference from some other states). Is that indeed the case? Because the timeline for my degree conferral means that by taking that path, I won't be able to sit for the boards until April. But it ALSO seems like you can work as a PTLA prior to taking the boards if granted permission by the PTBC???

Has anyone gone through this process themselves? It just seems like a lot to navigate, and I was hoping to get some insight from someone who's gone through it all. Any help/advice that you can offer would be very very appreciated :)

Members don't see this ad.

I am going through CA licensing right now. So far, I got my PTLA within 2 weeks after all the documents were submitted to PTBC. Their website says you get PT license within 45 days after passing NPTE.