Final year medical student in England - USMLE planning help

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ugm12

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello. I've just started final year of medicine in the UK (as a British citizen). After doing my elective (overseas placement) in the U.S. this summer, I'm considering applying for residency there.

I have read the many IMG USMLE threads on here, but actually coordinating a residency application seems extremely tricky time-wise.

I passed the first round of finals last year (paeds, OBGYN, psych, emergency med, oncology). But given I am also studying for medicine and surgery finals this year, does anyone have any suggestions on the best time to sit steps 1 and 2 (for me)?

Also what sort of time frame should I expect between sitting steps 1 and 2? (I understand step 2 CS has to be sat in the U.S.)

Any advice at all would be greatly appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

The fact you still are studying for medicine and surgery is a big advantage for you on Step 2 CK, because there is a TON of medicine on that exam. I would give it at least 2 months between exams so you can brush up adequately on either exam. That amount of time should bring you into the passing range and allow you to do reasonably well provided you study hard.

For CS, yes, you need to take it in the US. I would do it in LA or Houston, as it's easy access and there is going to be less competition than NY or Atlanta. The LA testing site is also literally 5 minutes from LAX, which helps a lot, too.

If you are looking for resources, here is what I would recommend:

Step 1:
First Aid - it's a go to study book with enough to do reasonably well
Uworld Qbank - excellent practice questions
Kaplan - Again a ton of questions