MD Finally applying! Chances?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

NoahJoy

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

After two gap years, I'm hoping to finally matriculate to Medical School. I graduated in 2014 with a BSc in Biology, with a concentration in Education Studies from George Mason University. My cGPA at the time was a 3.67, and sGPA 3.42. After graduating, I taught 6 months as a Middle School Science teacher here in the states, before something more appealing came up. I graduated Cum Laude, and was chosen to be a Fulbright Fellow, a post I loved dearly, and just recently returned from.

During my time off, I took Extension courses through Harvard Extension School, because there were no accredited American Universities close to where I was living. I earned 50 credits over the course of a year, and increased my cGPA to 3.78, sGPA 3.68.

During Undergrad, I was an athlete, and perhaps not as devoted to my studies as I should've been. I took the MCAT 2x while I was still in College, and scored a 23, and 26 respectively.

After I became a Fulbright Fellow, I devoted more time to my MCAT prep, and this past January, scored a 37 on my MCAT (12/12/13).

My EC's include
1. College Athletics
2. Various College EC's/Honors/Awards
3. Fulbright Fellow
4. Unite for Sight Worker (This summer in Ghana)
5. Grassroots Soccer Volunteer for 2nd Gap year

So with my cGPA 3.78, sGPA 3.68, and MCAT of 37, do I have a shot at any Top 15 Programs?

The following are schools that are all my #1's
Harvard, Stanford, UPenn, Yale, Columbia, Duke, CHicago, Cornell, Northwestern.

Any chance of an interview at any of these?

Members don't see this ad.

I should clarify, Harvard, Boston, or Tufts would really be awesome! I am getting married in t-minus 2 months, and my partner cannot relocate, so I think I would generally just be a more sane person if I could be closer to him!