floating question

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

pharm00123

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I've been floating with cvs for a couple months any my supervisor just told me that my 40 hr/week permanent store will be this crazy, super busy 24 hour store. its like the 2ns busiest pharmacist in our district. I really hate working at that store (i worked there for many shifts) but I just dont know how to tell the supervisor that I do not want to be placed there. I was previously working in hospital so retail is still pretty new to me and I just cannot handle that high volume store. Im afraid of emailing him and asking if I can just rather float because I do not want to get fired. Do you think its even worth asking or will it reflect bad upon me?

Members don't see this ad.

i floated for a chain for 13 months. i quit just last week. all the stores sucked, i didnt see myself in any of them full time. but i REALLY would not want to be placed permanently in a busy 24 hr store. i understand where youre coming from. i think it will reflect bad upon you if you tell you supervisor. however if you dont, you will be very miserable in that store. like you said, youve been there many times, you know how it is.

I think once you are working full-time in a store, you will have a better chance of getting transferred to a store you like. I'd tell your supervisor that you will take the job, but that you want to work at XYZ store as soon as there is an opening (have a plausible reason, like its closer to your home, or has better hours, or something.) If all else fails, start dating a tech at your store, and then they will have to transfer you.

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)