For anyone wanting to do Med/Dent/Pharm in Romania

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mimran91

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi

I’m a third year dentistry student at UMF Iasi (GT Popa). I transferred from Czech Republic because it’s cheaper here and the system is easier. I have been here for 3 months now so I understand the place well.

Lots of people are asking me if I can help them apply to UMF Iasi. Im here to help you and we will sort out your documents, the legalising and apostilling process, submit your application to the university, pick you up from the airport, help you find accommodation, help you open a bank account, get a sim card, get extra luggage sent over from your home country and anything else you need help with. Things like getting a sim card may seem small but because of the beauracracy here, it could take a whole day just to get a prepaid sim card!

Heres some info on UMF Iasi and the university life.

- University tuition fee is just €5000 (probably cheapest in the EU) and can be paid in monthly instalments if need

- Living cost is very cheap - you can live the whole year, rent and living cost included, for just €1800 if you want to save money. But if you want to live like a king, go out every day, eat out every day, then it’ll only cost you €4000 in total. For example a chicken shawarma wrap costs just €2 and a cinema ticket costs just €4

- The pass mark is 50%. Its slightly more than the UK where its 40% everywhere but this is very good considering in Czech Republic it was 70% and passing was unbelievably hard! The system is better I think. Also, you only need 45 credits out of 60 to pass the year. This means that you don’t need to pass every subject to progress (but it’s good to pass everything in that because you will still have to make it up later and will have to pay 80 euros per credit you retake)