Foreign Practice

elyoukaayee

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a current freshman in college (technically a sophmore) and my final goal in life is to be a missionary doctor to foreign countries in areas that have little to no medical access. I've been told that being a PA in America is just as good as being a doctor for this situation because it is the only medical help they can get. I originally wanted to just go all the way and become a doctor rather than stop at PA but I'm not willing to wait until I'm almost 30 to start my life. So as of now I can come up with these two options, become a PA and begin practicing in these areas much sooner, or goto medical school, get my MD and go practice in these areas with no residency, then return to the US sometime in the future to complete my residency and become an official doctor.
If anyone has any type of advice I would greatly appreciate it.

Members don't see this ad.

I'm a current freshman in college (technically a sophmore) and my final goal in life is to be a missionary doctor to foreign countries in areas that have little to no medical access. I've been told that being a PA in America is just as good as being a doctor for this situation because it is the only medical help they can get. I originally wanted to just go all the way and become a doctor rather than stop at PA but I'm not willing to wait until I'm almost 30 to start my life. So as of now I can come up with these two options, become a PA and begin practicing in these areas much sooner, or goto medical school, get my MD and go practice in these areas with no residency, then return to the US sometime in the future to complete my residency and become an official doctor.
If anyone has any type of advice I would greatly appreciate it.

Being a PA is never "just as good as being a doctor." If you mean that it would be a quicker avenue for you to do what you're saying you want to do, sure, that's probably true.