Frozen Section Formalin fixed human tissue

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

justforgotfrag

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi All. my research focuses on imaging analysis, but then before that, I need to get a clean slice of tissue. So far, it has been unsuccessful and I was hoping that someone here can help me out.

I am currently using Leica CM 3500 XP. my formalin fixed human block is embedded in 4% CMC. the temperature of the crytome is at 20C and the angle of the blade is 20. our goal is trying to get <50 micron. the setup seems to be fine but then when we tried to slice it, the tissue did not stick to the pink tape, as it would just fall off. I was wondering if anyone here familiar with this type of slicing..

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

I've been doing frozens for more than 30 years and never heard of "pink tape" and if you want decent microscopy on a frozen section consider about 5 microns.

I don't know what pink tape is either...However, when I have cut a frozen on formalin fixed tissue and not fresh - there usually are problems getting the tissue to adhere to the slide throught the entire staining process without floating off. We use positively charged or plus slides when we cut them on a formalin fixed specimen to try to minimize that issue.

Members don't see this ad :)
Forgive my ignorance, but what would be the reason for doing a frozen section on fixed tissue? (As opposed to just processing it routinely and embedding in wax?)

Why would you need to freeze it? You can cut a section off of a paraffin block - that's the entire purpose of the paraffin block. Freezing it makes no sense.

You need someone on-site who knows what they're doing, or send it out.

One can certainly do a frozen on formalin fixed tissue, although I agree there needs to be a good reason to do a frozen section rather than embed in paraffin.