Gaining research exp. & how to become competitive for PhD programs

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Hello All,

I am currently a foundation year student in a MSW program in NYC. My concentration is clinical but I am interested in pursuing a PhD in Social Work when I graduate. I have a 3.82 GPA and decent GRE scores. I have a few questions about what specific steps I need to take to be a competitive candidate for a PhD program.

have a partial academic scholarship but after completing my first year, I've decided to switch to part-time so that I won't have to incur as much debt. As a result, I won't have an internship this upcoming 2013/2014 school year. My first year internship was at clinical site usually reserved for advanced year students placement. I told my internship supervisor that I switched my program to part-time and she offered me the opportunity to work there full-time next year. I would definitely enjoy working there again but am hoping to spend this year gaining some research experience since next year (2014/15) my assigned advanced year internship will be clinical again. I'll only have 3 classes so my schedule will allow me plenty of time to volunteer and increase my ability to get into a funded PhD program.

How do I gain research experience? I see tons of opportunity for clinical experience but nothing for people that are inexperienced looking to gain research experience. Other than the research classes that are a part of my program, I literally have zero experience in this area.