Getting worse and worse at verbal MCAT 2015

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ballin4dapandas

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I started studying about 2 months ago for the MCAT and I'm taking it August 21st. I followed Testing Solutions 30 day plan and used TPR material for my practice in the beginning...towards the end of the 30 days I found I made huge improvements getting on average 5 questions wrong every 4 passages. I bought Testing Solutions practice exams and the AAMC question packs and started doing those once I finished TPR material and I find them EXTREMELY harder...like in the sense that in the past 2 months I feel like I've gotten absolutely no practice. I can't follow the passages at all and I don't even understand what the questions are asking and I'm freaking out. I did 4 passages yesterday and got 9/28 correct...I figured I should restart and start doing 2 passages a day again. I just did 2 and got 3/13 right and I didn't get one question right in one of the passages. Basically I'm freaking out and I don't really know how to handle this; reading has always been my worst subject but I thought i was making improvements. Any advice would be appreciated!

Members don't see this ad.

Get your hands on the TPR Hyperlearning Verbal book and start doing 4-5 passages a day. Then review them and note patterns in question types you're getting wrong. Once you've determined what kinds of questions, you're getting wrong (say after a week of this), look over your worst offenders and try to determine how you could tackle them better, look at your old practice and see what could work. Slowly but surely, your verbal will improve with thorough analysis and consistent practice.

Do some additional practice for the next week or so, and if you don't feel you're ready, push back your test date.