Going From A CC to NYU in a year with bad HS GPA.

Ganymedes

That Lavender Blonde
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello, for the 2010 Fall Semester I'll be attending Borough of Manhattan Community College as a hopeful Science major but I have a few questions:

I did bad in high school. In fact I consider it a gift from the heavens that I even graduated, although I graduated a year early from HS my Junior Year GPA was around a 1.8 - 2.8 so I pretty much didn't get into any college other than BMCC. I've learned my mistakes the hardest way possible and I plan to do all in my power to achieve in BMCC for the sake of my future. But because of my grades I wasn't eligible to get into the Biology Major at BMCC. I want to go to New York University in a year as a Biology Major but Im terrified that they will a)look at my high school transcript and reject me and/or b) accept me and make me take all my biology courses again. As a Science Major I can take bio I and Chem I but as I understand CC level is different from 4yr level which is slowly becoming frustrating for me.

Im currently running around in circles trying to find out about Articulation Credit Transfer between BMCC and NYU in terms of the Science Major. No one is giving me straight answers and the last thing I want is to have to retake a whole bunch of classes and waste the year I nearly died to get. So in case it wasn't obvious what Im asking, my questions in clear format.

1. Is a Science Major at BMCC good enough to apply to NYU as a Biology major, despite being two different majors with similar courses?

2. One year = 31 Credits. Is that enough to show NYU so that they won't need my high school transcript?

3. WIll my credits even transfer to NYU from BMCC if I go with the Science Major. I'm a few steps away from actually marching into NYU and personally harassing people to find out but Im trying to be civil however Im not getting a clear answer on this.