GPA, DAT, ECs Advice Please!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

brushthis

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys, I need some advice for pre-dent works, I graduated from an ivy-institution in 2004 with a bio major/fine arts minor, here's my stat:

cum GPA: 3.29
non sci GPA: 3.59
sci GPA: 3.03 (had one bad semester but made up for it by getting 3.5-3.7 for the last 3 remaining semesters)
research: 4 years w/ 3 publications (1 first author)
volunteer: 1 year
shadowing: plan to this summer
others: 4 years collegiate club sport + 2 art exhibitions + a bunch of ecs.

Current Plans:
Postbac to raise Science GPA and plan to take the DAT this summer or fall.

Advice:
1) What's should I aim for in DAT? [I'm very good at PAT thanks to my fine arts background (they are fun!) but going to need some work in chem]

2) What schools should I apply to?

3) Should I apply this year or wait until I get my postbac grades then apply next year?

4) Anything I missed?

Thanks for reading and input!!!

Members don't see this ad.

I wonder why nobody replied to your post. My hunch tells me that you are an overachiever who is overly worried about getting into a dental school (which you would have no problem with), and thus nobody replied.

I have to agree with the fact that your stats will probably be good enough to get into school. Although your sci gpa is lower, you have research experience including a 1st author (which as an undergrad is very meaningful as i am sure you know).

I would apply this cycle and not worry all that much about raising your GPA. It should be fine. Look for schools who don't emphasize GPA that much. Do well on the DAT.

Members don't see this ad :)
brushthis said:
Hey guys, I need some advice for pre-dent works, I graduated from an ivy-institution in 2004 with a bio major/fine arts minor, here's my stat: