GPA Trainwreck

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Doc_2_Be

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I'm absolutely committed to becoming a physician. I am currently an EMT and Medicine is what brings me joy. I'm way nontraditional, and I let my GPA crash and burn during my undergrad while I was an athlete. I have a B.S. and an UGPA of 2.5 after well over 130 hours of classes... I am now enrolled at the university of Houston finishing my prerequisites consisting of Organic Chem I & II and Phys I & II. I have no idea how to pull my GPA up beyond Acing these 4 classes and continuing my upward trend, which will hardly make a dent. The current game plan is to blow the MCAT away, work as an EMT and shadow for clinical experience, get involved with premed organizations including volunteering, build a relationship with my premed adviser, and join in on research. Even with all of this, what do you guys suggest? Post-Bac? Redo undergrad?
Thanks in advance for helpful, informative dialogue.

Members don't see this ad.

Maybe you can do like me and focus on retaking all your "burn" classes and apply for a DO school? In addition to all the other things. I have a limited science background, so I have all the prereqs to conquer, but I have a few nasty blemishes on my history as well. (2.21 162 hours just at one school). Retake any BCPM that isn't a B or higher. Maybe look at your university about grade forgiveness, depending on how old your record is...

Same advice that's given to everyone else. If you want to go DO, use grade replacement. If you want to be an MD, you need an SMP, which should only be undertaken after getting your GPA to a 3.0.