Guaranteed Med Program vs Applying in Regular Cycle

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

erythropoietin4

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone!
I am a rising senior in college who recently got into a guaranteed medical program at a lower tier medical school with an average MCAT around 30. The cost of the medical school is fairly pricey as I am an out-of-stater. I am very grateful for the acceptance, but during the waiting time, I also took the MCAT and received a score of a 37. My GPA is a 3.92, and I have a fair bit of research experience from institutions like Einstein. I am an active EMT-B member and have 100 hours of volunteering from the local hospital. I know there's great security in the program, but does anyone think there's value in applying in the regular pool and getting in somewhere else of a better reputation? If I do apply in the regular pool, I automatically lose my spot in the guaranteed program. How valuable is the medical school ranking affiliated with it in terms of placing into residencies? Obviously, there's a big hassle in applying in the regular pool and no safety medical schools, but in the long run I question whether it's worth it to aim for higher. Thoughts?

Members don't see this ad.

You have an acceptance. Instead of the most stressful 8 months of your life (so far), take it and run.

If you are a good med student, do well on boards, build solid relationships with your deans, and maybe put out some research, you will match just fine.

Reactions: 1 users
Although you could probably get in at other schools, I'd do exactly what @ChrisMack390 suggested. Don't even put yourself through that much stress and potential disappoinment in applying.

Reactions: 1 users
Members don't see this ad :)