Guidance Appreciated!!!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

LC Doc

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am currently a first year graduate student for Occupational Therapy. I am doing very well in school, (gpa is 3.85.) The problem is, I understand the importance of Occupational Therapy, yet I lack the passion to pursue it as a career. I find OT un-challenging. I plan on going to med school (most likely DO).
I am 23 years old. My undergrad gpa is 3.2--- (not the greatest). I have not taken all of the pre-reqs to apply to med school. I have taken 2 physics courses and the 2 general chemistry classes.

Should stay in my OT program and tough it out… even though I don’t find it interesting? I am not a quitter… but my tuition and living expenses combined are over $50,000 per year…. I am paying for this with student loans.
Or
Should I drop out of my OT program and enroll in a post-bac pre-med program?
I know that I need to shadow, volunteer, boost up my resume and focus on studying for the MCAT… I am determined to make it!
Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

I'm not sure anyone can give you sound advice on this issue, but I'll give it a shot:

Medical schools request that applicants submit transcripts from all undergraduate and graduate institutions attended. Considering the level of detail requested in the application, you can't exactly hide the fact that you're in a graduate program right now. So, you do one of two things: