Harvard vs. Yale

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

akidder

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
hi,

i'm kind of new to this chat room thing, but am facing a bit of a dilemna, so thought i'd give it a try. by monday, i have to decide between harvard and yale medical school. 1i know both are great places, but from my many friends who go to harvard or have worked as residents in the harvard hospitals, i have some concerns regarding the quality of the clinical training. it's my impression that in the 3rd and 4th years, students don't get much responsibility and in general, feel more like a drag on the team than a help. moreover, i'm concerned that there might not be a paticularly high level of committment among residents and attendings to teaching. i don't know yale as well, but my visits there and my talks with students have given me the impression that the clinical years are better there -- more chances to assume responsibility for patient care and a greater commitment among the house staff and attendings to teaching. but i hate new haven and love boston and frankly, as a bit of an older student (i'm 25) i'm a little worried about spending the rest of my twenties in a small, college town. my interest is really in community medicine, and it seems like there's ample opportunity for that in both places. i know a lot of this depends on what kind of a student you are and the luck of the draw with which residents you get -- it may that it's really a wash between the two places.

if anyone has any thoughts, i'd be very grateful.

thanks,

alice

Members don't see this ad.

You are a kidder.

regardless, i am sure the clinical years at harvard are not noticeably different to yale's to the point where you would turn down a school like harvard and at the same time a city where most people would love to reside in.