Medical Health, Justice, Advocacy & Yale's Dual MD/MPH Program

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

This interview is the latest in an Accepted blog series featuring interviews with medical school applicants and students, offering readers a behind-the-scenes look at top medical schools and the med school application process. And now, introducing Tehreem Rehman…

Accepted: We'd like to get to know you! Where are you from? Where and what did you study as an undergrad?

Tehreem: I'm from Queens, NY and I studied Women's & Gender Studies as a John Jay Scholar at Columbia.

Accepted: Can you share three fun facts about yourself?

Tehreem:

1. I love to make jewelry or buy old pieces from flea markets and reconfigure them into unique, flattering pieces.

2. My fiancé and I may be in the running for the longest engagement. We've been engaged for over two years now and I don't anticipate having any time to plan a wedding until my final year of medical school. I'm also taking two extra years in between for an MPH and research.

3. Once I find a good pair of leather boots with relatively comfy heels, I will wear them like 3-4 times a week and wear them out in only a couple of months. I prefer walking everywhere and so I go through shoes fast.

Accepted: Where are you currently in med school? What year?

Tehreem: Yale School of Medicine. I'm currently taking a year off to do my MPH and will commence clinical rotations this June.

Accepted: Why did you choose this program? Can you explain how it works with the 2 degrees? What's the timeline like?