Hello

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Strumzilla

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello, (long post, sorry)

I’m looking for feedback from anyone who's been in a similar situation, knows someone who has, or really just any advice would be appreciated.

I'm a retired Army Physician Assistant, just having retired in October 2010 after 23 years service. I was a PA for 12 years, serving stateside with multiple overseas trips to Iraq, Afghanistan, Kosovo, Korea, etc. I have worked in family practice, occupational medicine, and of course the typical military medicine/deployment setting (trauma, inf dz, ortho, etc.).

I have a B.S. for PA school, an MPAS in family medicine, and an MPH in occupational medicine. My cumulative GPA is around 3.8, I think my science GPA will be a little lower since my worst semester GPA was around 3.375 for the first semester of PA school where I made something like 6 B's and 4 A's. I have never made worse than a B.

Right now I’m working in an Army family practice clinic at Ft Hood, Texas. I have some financial commitments and I want to save money so I plan on working for the next two years with a plan to start a post bac pre med (haven’t decided on formal/informal but I’m leaning formal) in Fall 2010. I have taken truncated versions of many of the pre-reqs during PA school but my plan is to repeat them since it’s been over 12 years, my courses will probably not be universally accepted, and I want to refresh and prepare myself for the MCAT.