Help deciding between non-clinical and clinical volunteering!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PremedHopeful123

Reaction score
Hi all, looking for some advice on deciding between two types of volunteering for this upcoming summer.

Some context:
I am a second-year undergrad looking to apply to med school in 2025 (no gap year). So far I have around 400 hours of clinical experience working as a medical assistant, 100 hours of research with a lab at my school, and 50 hours of shadowing. I also have around 40 hours of non-clinical volunteering. This summer, I secured a full-time paid research position, and would like to volunteer a couple hours of week as well. I am currently in the process of finalizing the documents to be able to volunteer at a local hospital. However, I have become aware of the 150-hour minimum and have realized that I may want to prioritize increasing my non-clinical hours. I have accrued the 40 hours I have already volunteering at a local learning center specialized for underprivileged populations. I volunteer 1.5 hrs/week and plan to continue this role until I graduate. Should I ditch the clinical hospital volunteering and look to find some non-clinical volunteering this summer?
Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Yes, especially if you can still work time to time as an MA. Volunteer at a food bank, soup kitchen, homeless shelter or something similar.

Reactions: 2 users
Yes, especially if you can still work time to time as an MA. Volunteer at a food bank, soup kitchen, homeless shelter or something similar.