Help! Failed PTCB Exam...TWICE!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

UnifiedField

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Here is the deal.

I took PTC exam twice and failed...TWICE! I studied the whole summer of 2008, from May-June (failed), then again July-September (failed). I do not have a job and I did not enroll in ANY summer classes whatsoever--I dedicated my whole time this summer for this PTC exam. I could have atleast taken a pre-req this summer to get that out of they way instead of wasting my whole summer failing PTC exams.
I memorized half of the 200 common drug names, memorized all of the conversion factors, as well as all of the common abbreviations.
I practiced calculating DEA numbers, and pharmaceutical calculations & memorized all the laws.

I used three books (APA's The Pharmacy Technician work and workbook by Perspective Press, and The Pharmacy Certification Quick Study Guide by Susan Moss Marks/William A. Hopkins, Jr.) After one month of studying the first time, I took the practice exam provided for me in the workbook and did very well (I only missed 14 questions). The second time around, I took the practice exam in the Quick Study book (Chapter 12 Practice Questions) and did well again (missed 11 questions).

I scored a 634 the first time (650 being a passing score). I am unsure what I got for the second time...scores have not been mailed to me yet.

I am a pre-pharmacy student, 20 years old, Junior in college now (OChemI being one of my classes), ...Not that any of this matters, but I am just letting you all know where I stand in the academic world. I spent $129 each time I took this exam...yeah and mind you, I do not have a job. I had to beg around for the money EACH time...