Help Interpreting MCAT Charts and Graphs and Passage Strategy

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

RMRwlnds

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Im studying for the MCAT, and my major weakness seems to be being able to quickly interpret the charts and graphs they throw at you. Its very time consuming orienting myself sometimes. I seem to have more trouble with this in the biological science section than the physical science section but I wouldnt mind getting better at both. I have two questions: first, im wondering how people who have scored highly in the science sections approach the passages with charts. Do you look for differences? Do you just always know what the data means? Secondly, does anyone know of any books or prep materials designed to help with that, or any give someone exposure to them. I think I could learn a lot just from understanding how someone who scored really high sees the passages and approaches the test. I took a PR course, as much as they said theyd would help with approach to passages, they didnt. All they kept saying was practice. I dont disagree with that, but Id like to practice while using a better strategy,

Members don't see this ad.

I would recommend that you don't focus too much on the graphs when your reading through the passage. Note the axes and obvious trends but don't over analyze. Using the graphs can be extremely helpful when you get to the questions as they can save a lot of time. I think that knowing when to use the graphs really comes down to getting a good feel for graph-heavy passages. Can't recommend any books for bio but the AAMC practice tests were very helpful to me. Oh and not to freak you out or anything, but on my test there were a ton of graphs but I didn't feel like I used them much.

...Benzq, thanks for the advice. I'm