MD & DO Help!!! Need to know if I have a shot...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

coquis1111

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi guys! (First post ever)

I'm a nontraditional student, female, Mexican-American
2.74 sGPA in my postbacc
3.14 GPA undergrad for Business
25 MCAT (BS 9,V 9,PS 7)
380 volunteer hours in hospital, 400+ shadowing hours in underserved community clinic
Have worked managing my father's primary care medical office for 7 years (why I decided to go into medicine myself) in an also underserved community - lots of shadowing experience done there as well. Hoping to open a second location soon!

Had major family issues last year which caused my GPA to drop significantly - received lots of C's but I've managed an upward trend. I'm taking a series of upper-divison bio classes in the coming semesters and retaking some of the classes in which I received C's. I should get around a 2.9 if I Ace this quarter (3 weeks left!)

I would love to do either MD or DO route, if I have a chance....but DO I??

I appreciate any comments and advice :)

Members don't see this ad.

Hi guys! (First post ever)

I'm a nontraditional student, female, Mexican-American
2.74 sGPA in my postbacc
3.14 GPA undergrad for Business
25 MCAT (BS 9,V 9,PS 7)
380 volunteer hours in hospital, 400+ shadowing hours in underserved community clinic
Have worked managing my father's primary care medical office for 7 years (why I decided to go into medicine myself) in an also underserved community - lots of shadowing experience done there as well. Hoping to open a second location soon!

Had major family issues last year which caused my GPA to drop significantly - received lots of C's but I've managed an upward trend. I'm taking a series of upper-divison bio classes in the coming semesters and retaking some of the classes in which I received C's. I should get around a 2.9 if I Ace this quarter (3 weeks left!)