Heme/Onc Fellowship Chances

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

throwaway0699

Reaction score
Hello all,

I am a recent grad from IM residency as of 06/2023. I took a hospitalist year (s) at an academic institution to apply for heme/onc fellowship. I decided a little late for heme/onc and am concerned about my research and ability to match in the 2024 cycle. In regards to my background, I am a US grad, and trained at a top 20 IM residency program.

Currently, I am working as a hospitalist at an academic institution. My research has been all over the place, with a mix of case reports, abstracts and posters with no publications, and as of recently I just submitted a small cancer abstract/poster project to a conference. Total of 15 research experiences with some cancer biology wet lab, but otherwise a hodgpodge of other things. Otherwise, limited ongoing active onc research which has been an ongoing process to establish at my new job. Other data includes AOA, Step 1 26x, step 2 CK 26x, step 3 24x. Wondering what are my realistic chances of matching into a mid-tier academic program two years out from residency? I would be open to going broadly. My concern is largely research based and wonder if it's worth applying in 2025 to spruce up my research though I realize it's also considered a red flag the further out from residency you are as you apply.

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

How is your relationship with your home program, and the program affiliated with wherever you are working now?

They both have very strong H/O programs. I'd definitely apply but I wouldn't say I'm the most competitive candidate regarding research prospects. I've met with the program director of my home program and am meeting with the one at my current hospital in a month. I was encouraged to build up more active research.

Members don't see this ad :)