Honest Opinion: What are my chances of getting into dental school?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

huankn

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I want to pursue a career in dentistry, but want an honest opinion of what my chances are of getting in as I have a low GPA.

BA Medical Anthropology & Global Health, and Minor in Chemistry
GPA: 3.2 (maybe 3.3 by the time I graduate) ~sharp upward trajectory in last year

Extracurriculars:
Volunteer Dental Assistant at Homeless Shelter(500 + hours),
Volunteer English Instructor for Refugees/Immigrants
Going on a Dental mission in the summer
(please suggest any other extracurriculars that may help)

Confident I have strong Letter's of Rec

I haven't taken the DAT, but aiming to score around a 20, maybe 21?

I am a WA resident and my dream school would be UW, just because it would allow me to save money by moving back in with my parents and the privilege of instate tuition, although I would be very excited to pursue dentistry in any university.
I know the UW average acceptance stats are a ~3.6 GPA and 20.4 DAT :(

Members don't see this ad.

Agreed with the above. You should use your DAT to strengthen the argument that your current abilities don't reflect your early years in undergrad i.e. DAT scores will work hand in hand with your sharp trend and make it that much more compelling!
Best wishes.

Reactions: 1 user
You still have a shot, but a lot of it will ride on your DAT scores. Study for it well and aim for a higher than average score to offset your lower than average GPA.
What score would you suggest be a good score to to offset my low gpa? 21 or 22?

Members don't see this ad :)
What score would you suggest be a good score to to offset my low gpa? 21 or 22?
"aim 30" as Dr. Romano and Nancy often say lol, but definitely strive for a 22 (or higher) imo. It can be done no doubt!

Best.