How am I doing?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

nisarg2010

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I am a Second year student and would like to know if im "on track" to medical school or not.

School: Public state school
Major: Environmental Engineering
cGPA: 3.67
Science GPA: 3.7

Clinical Volunteering: ~400 hrs
Non-Medical Volunteering: ~500 hrs
Shadowing (family physician, dermatologist, ER, Pediatrician): ~100hrs

Very involved in research (since fall semester of freshmen year). Attended one research conference. Its likely that I will have a publication (non-first author)

clubs:
Engineers without border
Environmental Engineering Society
Relay for Life - committee president
Intramural soccer team- caption
Founder of a pre dental club (a friend (who is pre-dent) needed help)
Unite for sight - president and treasurer

Have received walmart scholarship and another small scholarship to attend conference

That's it.

So as someone who has about 3 more semesters before application cycle comes around, how am I doing?

Also what else should I be focusing on (other then grades, I know I need to bring those up)?

Thanks everyone

Members don't see this ad.

Sounds good to me, I'm about where you are, albeit I've taken the MCAT. You have waaaaay more hours than I have though. Looks like you're set, bud. :)

Sounds good to me, I'm about where you are, albeit I've taken the MCAT. You have waaaaay more hours than I have though. Looks like you're set, bud. :)

Thank You for you input. Since you have taken MCAT, Im assuming you will be applying very soon. Just want to say Good Luck!!

Members don't see this ad :)
Haha. I'm actually taking another year. So class of 2014...in part due to input from this forum! I have little clinical experience! Ahhh!

Good luck to you my friend, too!

You have strong clinical volunteering and shadowing :thumbup: Was all of it done during college?