How are you designated as a URM?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

emma2015

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I've been told that being a veteran qualifies as a URM. Can anyone confirm/deny this? If true, how are you put in the URM category? I'm wondering if it's something you have to select on your application or if they will automatically designate you based on your app. For instance, I discuss my military experiences, and there was a place on the primary where I indicated that I was a veteran - does this qualify me as a URM?

Members don't see this ad.

I've been told that being a veteran qualifies as a URM. Can anyone confirm/deny this? If true, how are you put in the URM category? I'm wondering if it's something you have to select on your application or if they will automatically designate you based on your app. For instance, I discuss my military experiences, and there was a place on the primary where I indicated that I was a veteran - does this qualify me as a URM?

There are a lot of places on your application to check off or mention that you are a veteran, and yes this is thought of very highly. I'm pretty sure URM is a term that's only used for your ethnic background, but regardless you don't have to worry, this is something that you won't have to do any work to find on the applications and will make you a much more appealing applicant. Thank you for you service!

Based on who your mama and papa are..
So if you got a black papa, and a black mama you're URM
If you got a black papa white mama, you're URM(generally)
If you got a white papa and black mama you're URM(generally)

If you got a hispanic mama and papa you're URM
If you got a white papa and hispanic mama(you probably won't be classified as URM, generally biracial latino/white children look more white)
If you got a white mama and latino papa you're probably an URM