How "bad" is it really?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MPSIII

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,
I'm a pre-clinical med student, and I've always been interested in NS, I like the science, the technology, the challenge, and the anatomy. When I tell people that I'm interested in NS, it's invariably met with "you're a masochist," which is of course incorrect, but given as much as people come back with that response, I'm left to wonder just how intense of a lifestyle NS must be for everyone to say that.

My question is, what is a typical week/month like for a NS resident, as far as getting to the hospital, hours/day, leaving the hospital, weekends, schedule predictability, etc? I realize it's not a bank teller's schedule, but is it still feasible to have some degree of involvement with other things, eg. men's league hockey monday nights at 9.30 (my current extra-curricular release) and a weekend off her and there to see family/friends? I'd like to hear from some people at various stages to see what it's like PGY-1 versus PGY-5, etc? Additionally, how different/similar is the schedule for a practicing NS, either private or academic?

Members don't see this ad.