How can I give back as a Doctor?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Seranio

10+ Year Member
Reaction score

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Hello,

I am an African-American student preparing to apply for medical school but I have a few questions. Recently i've taken some amazing classes on public health and African-American studies. I realized I am extremely interested in politics, the state of healthcare reform, and the effect of race in medicine. My question is how can I best combine all of these disciplines as a doctor to help my community? How can I best improve the conditions of the poor and underserved from a medical perspective? What can I do to make my voice a loud one? Do I need to become a pundit / medical correspondent? Surgeon General? Would an MD/PhD help with my cause? What will allow me to be the best advocate I can be?

I know considering being the Surgeon General probably sounds naive but this is something I am really passionate about. I am willing to work at it, I just need some input on some careers I can consider that would fulfill what I would want to do.

So much thanks to anyone who bothers to read this and wants to help me out.

I would think an MPH or an MPP would help much more than a PhD in terms of politics, advocacy, and health policy. A PhD is a purely academic degree.

My goal is humanitarian work overseas as a surgeon, preferably in wartorn/disaster stricken counties (ie Haiti, Afghanistan etc) :) Also gives me an opportunity to indulge my love to travel and experiencing new cultures:cool:

Hello,