how did you pay for your pre-req?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MissR6

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
similar post in the bost-bacc forum, don't hate for duplicating, just wan't sure which one would be the best place to post this.

I'm wondering how people paid for their pre-req's/post bacc, and did the final cost determine the route you took? I'm currently assessing my options on which route to take, and am weighing out the different options I have. I am a “career-changer”.

This is addressed to both those who did a formal post-bacc and those who took it upon themselves to do an informal “d-i-y” post-bacc.

Some background on me:

I graduated from an International I.B. high school while my parents were stationed overseas so I never took the SAT or ACT, and since I had a 3.7 GPA for my bachelors (U.S. School) and I pursued their accelerated program I was not required to take the GRE for acceptance into my M.S. degree. That being said I know I could buy GRE test prep, study and take the GRE with no problems for the formal programs that require the test scores.

Second, I currently work full time and am well compensated for what I do; my take home is 6 figures annually, so I am worried as to how this will affect my abilities for financial aid/loans etc. I can afford to pay the entire tuition without aid, so that is an option, however I do not intend to work while completing the post-bacc so without any income during my time in a program I am hesitant to do so. I also have the post 9-11 GI bill, although my intentions were to use this to help pay for med school.

I have thought about scaling back and only working part time, or part of the year, and going to the local state school part time/part year, but I need to discuss this with option with my employer.