How hard was it for you to go back to school?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

SoManyKids

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Just wondering how much of a shock it was (if at all) for those of you who went back to school after 10+ years out. I graduated with my BA in 1999, so I haven't seen the inside of a classroom for a while. I did well back then, but it worries me to think what all these years with no schoolwork might have done to my brain.

Any stories, good or bad, appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

Hopefully everything will come back naturally to you like riding a bike. Take things slow and don't get too frustrated over mistakes. You'll get better after a few weeks to months, and you might even be a better student than what you were ten years ago. Good luck! :)

Members don't see this ad :)
you might even be a better student than what you were ten years ago. Good luck! :)

I think that's (^^^) more likely than anything.

I remember the biggest problems I had in my undergrad were the distractions 1) parties and hangovers (being in a frat didn't help one bit) 2) finances, or lack thereof (not having the money for some books certainly didn't help my performance, 3) not being motivated by the pursuit of medicine, and the need to have stellar grades.

Regretting all that now, but I think us non-trads tend to fare much better when returning after some time away. I'm a bit apprehensive myself about re-engaging my brain into a study regime, but I know I'm a whole lot more focused now, and now what my priorities are.

I graduated a decade before my return to school. I wasn't nervous so much about going to college as I was about taking hard core science classes. I got a C in gen chem a bazillion years ago.