How I studied for the DAT

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

firephoenix26

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone,

Warning before you read: this is a very long post, but I feel like everything I have said contains valuable information for those who are beginning to study for the DAT and want good advice. If you already have a study plan, that's cool and you might wanna skip this post so it doesn't make you nervous or anything (however, do read my part that says ********READ THIS******** if you are using Kaplan).

I took the DAT last March and did very well on it (I'd rather not share my GPA/scores, but they were both extremely good), and now that people are starting to study for it again, I just wanted to share with everyone my take on how I studied and the resources that I used. I started studying just after Christmas (for a total of just over 3 months of studying), but I never did any marathon 8+ hour study sessions until the week before the exam (although I was consistent about studying - don't take long stretches off (those long stretches hurt because 1. you're not studying and 2. you forget material you've already learned) ).

I used the following 2 items exclusively, and found them to be completely sufficient for studying for all of the DAT. You will probably want to study math more than I did, but I think you'll be in a really good position if you do what I did for the other sections.

1. Kaplan online course (DAT on demand here: http://www.kaptest.com/DAT-NBDE/Home/index.html)
Note that I took the course (which is very expensive, ~$1300). You can get away without the course (although I definitely would recommend doing it for the extras if you can afford it), but I'll address a less expensive option at the end.

2. Crack the DAT (solely the PAT portion though) (here: http://crackdat.com/)