This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Rsd3113

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,

I’ve been unable to find an answer to this question after a lot of searching. I would like to know how long can one can defer residency after graduating from a US medical school. Long story short, I’m a third year medical student and I’m considering become an Air Force pilot and then enterting medicine again after my service (I was told it’s a 12 year commitment). I’ve had my private pilots license since 2010 and have always had a passion for flying, and after talking to a recruiter I was told that with my experience, GPA, etc. I would have about a 90% chance of being selected by the pilot selection board, especially given the current shortage of pilots. However, I cannot complete residency prior to pilot training because the cutoff age is 29 and I’m currently 27. Unfortunately, it seems like I would have to choose between either practicing medicine or being a pilot, but I’m wondering if there’s any way I could do both. I know the military currently has a pilot physicians program, but from what I can gather it sounds like one would go through pilot training and then enter medical school after serving.

I don’t really care to hear anyone’s opinions on why this is a bad idea, because I’ve already read about this in several other threads. I just want to know what the legal requirements are. Would I be able to (or be required to) retake step 1 and step 2 after a certain number of years prior to applying for residency? I also have my MBA and would love the idea of taking on an administrative role in medicine instead of practicing, so I’m wondering if this would be an option as well following my service in the Air Force. Thanks for all the help.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited: