How long did it take you to feel comfortable at drawing blood/inserting an IV?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Butterfly944

5+ Year Member
2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi!

I'm somewhat in between of being a student and being a doctor. I'm in my final year, we have a different system so in less than 5 months I'll be starting my residency.

My problem: throughout all of the past 5 years I wasn't really practicing drawing blood or inserting an IV since its been the nurses job for a few years now and I didn't want to bother anyone with my requests to practice. But I still need to be able to draw blood or inserting this long needle IV thing :-(
Now I've been struggling, it just never worked out. I'm wondering about my competence and if I'll ever learn how to draw blood. The past few days I wasn't even able to succeed with patients who had really big veins.

Can anyone cheer me up? :-/

Members don't see this ad.

Yeah. I have done 1 IV ever, about 10 (!?) years ago when I was getting ready to start MS3. On my classmate who had enormous veiny man arms. I didn’t do residency in a sweat shop like NYC so it’s not a skill I ever needed to learn.

I’ve handed off a few syringes of blood while putting in a CVL though. If you need me to stick one of those nice deep veins it’s all good.

Reactions: 8 users
I spent a week with the techs in the ED during residency, and think I placed 3 IVs.

I was a phlebotomist prior to med school, so I can draw blood pretty well, but I think outside of above week working with the techs, I have used that skill like 3 times since starting med school, and all of them were in med school and only one was for actual patient care (I was in ophtho clinic late, a patient needed labs, and apparently all the nurses had left for the day).

Reactions: 1 user