How much of a red flag?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

CodeRedDew

Thirst Quencher
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
How much of a red flag would it be if I didn't send a LOR from my principal investigator?

I have been working in a lab for nearly 1 1/2 years now but I feel like I haven't really done much to receive a really strong letter. I began by working under a graduate student who graduated a few months ago and since then I've basically been doing nothing. My PI is really nice and he hasn't said much about me not doing much work (basically because there really isn't much work to do given limited funds and lack of graduate students in the lab). I have done a couple of poster presentations along with some behavioral assessments on mice and a few lab meeting presentations; however, other than that, it hasn't been much.

So what I'm asking is, if I sent in my AMCAS application and didn't include my PI's letter of recommendation, how much of a red flag would that be to schools? I'm not looking to go to any top-research heavy schools like Harvard, UCSF, or Hopkins; albeit, I do want to get in somewhere!

I feel like I have really strong letters from my other sources, but I just don't have that same feeling with my PI because I really haven't done much. Suggestions? (also I do work at this lab under a course in which he has given me A's for the past three semesters, so maybe he knows that there isn't much I can do? Lol)

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
How much of a red flag would it be if I didn't send a LOR from my principle investigator?