How much of surgical skill can be attributed to tremor?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Perzt

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have seen some threads here from MS that wonder how their tremor would affect a potential surgical career. It seems that some surgeon point out microvascular and vascular surgery are not something to consider if having tremors.

Lately I've had some surgical experience and have seen surgeons with unbelievable steady hands and surgeons with shaky hands. One thing that caught my interest a bit was a transplantation surgeon doing pediatric pancreas transplant, and had very unstable hands. However, he managed to make the anastomoses without any problems. Also, he did a liver transplant and the anesthesiologst was impressed by how fast he worked through the case. And when I say shaky hands in this case, I mean really shaky. maybe 1 cm amplitude. I asked him after the case if he ever had used betablockers or something to overcome the tremor and he just answered "You just don't need to reduce the tremor if you understand how to anastomose it the right way".

The cases he did I would call delicate surgery at times, at least the vascular part of it. But when you ask other surgeon they say that steady hands is very very important in order to make a anastomosis.

Are there several aspects on surgical performance? It feels that if your hands don't shake your anastomoses for example will be perfect, but it seems that it is just a small part of actually getting a anastomosis right, understanding and having a good 3D-view of everything seems to be very important too.

Members don't see this ad.

Probably easier if you have steady hands, but obviously from your experience its possible with a tremor. Either way if your anastomosis is leaking you would fix it prior to leaving the OR.